The Art of Keeping Secrets

Rachael Johns

2016

Women’s Fiction

Won, NetGalley Arc, COYER

Paperback/Kindle

★★★★★

‘Little secrets grow up to be big lies…

They’ve been best friends since their sons started high school together, and Felicity, Emma and Neve share everything … or so they thought.

But Flick’s seemingly perfect marriage hides a shocking secret which, with one word, threatens to destroy her and her family’s happiness. Emma is in denial about a potential custody battle, her financial constraints, the exhaustion she can’t seem to shake off and the inappropriate feelings she has for her boss. And single mum Neve is harbouring a secret of her own; a secret that might forever damage her close-knit relationship with her son.

When the tight hold they have each kept on their secrets for years begins to slip, they must face the truth. Even if that truth has the power to hurt the ones they love, and each other.

Perhaps some secrets weren’t made to be kept.’

I absolutely love books like this, filled with secrets that intertwine and come out of the wood works. It really solidifies that honesty is the best policy in our household. I have nothing negative to say about this book so I will tackle this review through each of the main characters.

Felicity: What a woman?! Flick has kept an incredible secret for most of her marriage. Her friends have no idea that her marriage is far from the perfection they see. I can’t give away too much but I think that Rachael Johns tackled this issue with a huge amount of respect. It is amazingly relevant in this day and age too. It’s not so unbelievable. I loved Flick. I sympathized so much with her. I can’t imagine what I would do in her situation.

Emma: I was glad to see the ending on this one. It couldn’t have been more perfect. Emma was loveable but you got that sense that not everything is right. I felt deeply sorry for her and wanted her to have the happiest outcome. I am glad Rachael Johns did this.

Neve: This poor woman had the best of intentions at the time and it backfired hugely. It’s a case of hindsight being great. I think the issue was tackled well.

All in all the story was actually surprisingly believable. I don’t know why but I was expecting a romance novel and was pleasantly surprised with what I read. I cannot wait to read more of Rachael Johns, my next trip to the library I will be scouring the shelves.

My recommendation: If you haven’t read Rachael Johns, do it now!

Cai xx

 

