My Story

Elizabeth Smart

2014

Memoirs

Library Book, NBRC Cleaning Out the TBR Closet 2017

Paperback

★★★★

 

‘On June 5, 2002, fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Smart, the daughter of a close-knit Mormon family, was taken from her home in the middle of the night by religious fanatic, Brian David Mitchell and his wife, Wanda Barzee. She was kept chained, dressed in disguise, repeatedly raped, and told she and her family would be killed if she tried to escape. After her rescue on March 12, 2003, she rejoined her family and worked to pick up the pieces of her life.

Now for the first time, in her memoir, MY STORY, she tells of the constant fear she endured every hour, her courageous determination to maintain hope, and how she devised a plan to manipulate her captors and convinced them to return to Utah, where she was rescued minutes after arriving. Smart explains how her faith helped her stay sane in the midst of a nightmare and how she found the strength to confront her captors at their trial and see that justice was served.’

Elizabeth is an amazingly strong woman. For her to keep her strength and faith is incredible. It was fascinating to read about her mindset, the changes she went through and the things she told herself mentally. The way she gives insight to all those questions people asked such as ‘why didn’t you tell the officer who you were?’

I will admit that I love the morbid, I love true crime stories and documentaries. I am fascinated by the mindset and the psychology behind everyone involved. This was my cup of tea. Elizabeth is an amazing woman, using her experiences to help others who have had similar experiences.

The only downfall for me was that she didn’t always go into detail about how it really affected her. I know she is Mormon. I don’t want the details of her rape, but I want to know how it affected her marriage. I want to know how she assimilated back into society. I want to know how she slotted back into school after she became well known. If I want to know then surely someone who is looking for a role model who has gone through similar experiences, would want to know.

My recommendation: If references of God turn you off a book then this isn’t for you. If you’re into true crime, then you will like this book.

Cai xx

