As you may know, I love reading personal developments. I am in a constant search of ways to improve in all areas of my life. So I thought I would do Saturday’s Success where I will feature a book review of the latest personal development book that I have read. Here is my first Saturday’s Success.

Rich Dad, Poor Dad

Robert Kiyosaki

1998

Financial Advice

Personal Development

Borrowed Paperback

★★★★

 

‘Personal finance author and lecturer Robert T. Kiyosaki developed his unique economic perspective from two very different influences – his two fathers. One father (Robert’s real father) was a highly educated man but fiscally poor. The other father was the father of Robert’s best friend – that Dad was an eighth-grade drop-out who became a self-made multi-millionaire. The lifelong monetary problems experienced by his poor dad pounded home the counterpoint communicated by his rich dad. Taking that message to heart, Kiyosaki was able to retire at 47.’

This book really opened my eyes and changed my thinking about how the rich get rich and stay rich. It has definitely had an impact on how I think about my finances. The information is presented in a clear and concise format with diagrams and easy to read language. This is a huge plus for those who are not great at reading about money and finances. Like me.

Kiyosaki outlines how the education system in America (and I believe in Australia) fails to teach our future generations about finances. I completely agree with his point of view and have been of the opinion that the education systems set people up to fail and not succeed. We need to be teaching our children how to survive in the real world and we are definitely not doing this.

You need an open mind to read this book. You need to be open to the advice, to the alternative methods that you may not have been taught before. You need to really want to break away from the paycheck-to-paycheck mentality. You need to be open to a new mentality and way of thinking. You need to really want something more.

My recommendation: A great book for those with an open mind.

Cai xx

