Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person

Shonda Rhimes

2016

Memoir

Personal Development, March TBR Reading Challenge

iBook

★★★★

 

‘The mega-talented creator of Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal and executive producer of How to Get Away With Murder chronicles how saying YES for one year changed her life―and how it can change yours, too.

With three hit shows on television and three children at home, the uber-talented Shonda Rhimes had lots of good reasons to say NO when an unexpected invitation arrived. Hollywood party? No. Speaking engagement? No. Media appearances? No.

And there was the side-benefit of saying No for an introvert like Shonda: nothing new to fear.

Then Shonda’s sister laid down a challenge: just for one year, try to say YES to the unexpected invitations that come your way. Shonda reluctantly agreed―and the result was nothing short of transformative. In Year of Yes, Shonda Rhimes chronicles the powerful impact saying yes had on every aspect of her life―and how we can all change our lives with one little word. Yes.’

I had already decided that 2017 was to be my year of yes when I found Shonda Rhimes’ TED Talk about her Year of Yes. When she discussed her book, I knew I had to get my hands on it and read it. I just had to. My Year of Yes wouldn’t be complete without reading this book. So I bought it and got a kick in the teeth. I realized, I am not really living a year of yes, I am living a year of maybes and I need to actually say yes.

Shonda Rhimes is definitely talented. Her writing is hilarious! She is witty and brutally honest. She doesn’t hold back, she puts herself out there for everyone to see. She is passionate about representing real people and I admire her so much for it. She worked hard to get where is and she shows the side effects of that. She shows how standing up for yourself and celebrating your achievements can have such a positive effect on your life. I am truly glad to have read this book. I love that she defends having a nanny. I hate when people get self-righteous about being able to afford a nanny when they put their children in day care.

Now I understand that this is probably not fair, but I am only giving this book 4 stars because I didn’t agree with everything she wrote about being a mother.

My recommendation: Read this book and learn to say yes.

Cai xx

