International Women’s Day inspired me to celebrate how far women have come by sharing my top ten favourite female characters. To begin with this was a little harder than I thought. This was harder than I thought it would be. It has opened my eyes to how there is still such a need for strong female characters in literature, we should all be able to name 10 off the top of our heads.

I wanted them to be strong, someone who I personally would want as a role model for Victoria. So that pretty much ruled out characters from romance novels, as I don’t want Victoria growing up thinking life revolves around men and that she has to play the princess finding her prince.

I have a lot of criteria. It probably would have been easier to say why I would have a character in my top ten. For instance, I wouldn’t put Katniss from The Hunger Games because I don’t want Victoria to think that it is okay to string people along, openly manipulate and use them to achieve something. Now don’t get me wrong, I love Katniss. I love her strength. But she’s not in my top ten.

  1. Hermione Granger – Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  2. Matilda Woomword – Matilda by Roald Dahl
  3. Evie Lockhart – A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester
  4. Macie Harman – Don’t Mean A Thing by Renee Conoulty
  5. Rose Hathaway – Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  6. Liesel Meminger – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  7. Scout Finch – To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  8. Pollyanna Whittier – Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter
  9. Anne Shirley – Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  10. Skeeter Phelan – The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Hermione Granger

If you don’t know about Hermione Granger then you live under a really big rock. Hermione is incredibly intelligent, loves to study and read books. Hermione made it cool to be a nerd. I will forever be thankful to J.K. Rowling for writing such a character. On top of being the coolest nerd she is brave and loyal. She hangs with the guys without being less than wholesome and without being a total tomboy.

Matilda Wormwood

Notice how my favourite two (and the easiest for me to name) are obsessed with books and learning? Roald Dahl is legendary. No matter how rotten the Wormwoods and Trunchbull were, she never stopped being her.

While in my house it was perfectly normal to have your nose in a book all the time, the schoolyard didn’t agree. It was great to have inspiration to be who you are. I hope Victoria will remember to be who she is.

Evie Lockhart

Now I said it ruled out most romance novels. This is an exception. Evie Lockhart has tenacity and drive that I dearly hope Victoria will have. When she decides to become doctor in 1920s, it is a wild idea with plenty of obstacles. She tackles those obstacles head on. She adopts her half-sister and becomes a single mother to another child, all while still making it as a rare female obstetrician. There were plenty of times when she could have given up and run for the hills, lived a life as a lady of leisure. Instead she worked hard and never gave up.

Macie Harman

This is another exception to the romance novel rule. Renee has done an amazing job at writing a real female. Macie enjoys her new career in the Air Force and won’t let anything including a man, stop her from pursuing this dream. She’s also a dancer.

Rose Hathaway

I have a feeling that later on in life, Victoria will find Rose Hathaway a role model later in life. She is badass. She is kickass. She literally is fitter than the rest of the blokes in her class. She is loyal. She is smart. She is a standout. She literally risks her life for those she loves. She struggles. She has flaws, but she embraces them in a very Rose way.

Liesel Meminger

One of the best books I have ever read is The Book Thief. In fact it is the book my book club have chosen this month. Liesel is full of compassion. Her life hasn’t always been easy but she manages to make the most of everything. Her love of books is of course another key factor.

Scout Finch

Scout Finch is one of my favourite characters if all time. She is all tomboy and she does not care. Whatever Jem can do, she can do too. She has a great sense of what justice is. What right and wrong is. She had no issue whatsoever in standing up for herself and her beliefs.

Pollyanna Whittier

Pollyanna is a very beautiful soul. Her ability to find the good in everything for through the Glad Game, just doesn’t happen anymore. I feel that everyone can take a lesson from Pollyanna in positivity. I pray that Victoria will embrace the positive side of everything. Pollyanna also cares deeply for everyone around her, no matter how they treat her. Everyone is treated with love and respect.

Anne Shirley

Anne is a dreamer and she never stops dreaming. While everyone else has stopped holding onto what they call “childish dreams”, Anne embraces them and encourages others to dream. I love it. I am a big dreamer and I hope Victoria embraces dreaming. You are never too old to dream. If you don’t have dreams then what are you living for?

Skeeter Phelan

Skeeter pushes the boundaries. She doesn’t care for the consequences. She doesn’t care for what her parents, friends or romantic interests think. Her only concern is her passion and her passion has her pushing boundaries, rarely pushed. I hope Victoria is never afraid to push the boundaries in regards to what she is passionate about.

Who makes your top ten?

Cai xx

