Confess

Colleen Hoover

2015

Contemporary Romance

March Take Control of Your TBR Pile 2017

Paperback

★★★★★

 

‘Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.’

This book was so full of angst, it was seeping out of the pages before I could open it. In true Hoover style, I was up and down on the emotional rollercoaster. In true Hoover style, I could not put this book down.

Auburn is an amazing woman. I fell in love with her. I mean Owen was awesome but Auburn stole the show. As a mother, I completely understood all of her reasoning. The way she would take advantage of every opportunity to do what is best for her son. I can only imagine what she had to go through, but there are few characters I admire as much as I do her.

The concept of Owen’s art is fascinating. I love how Colleen comes up with ways to help her readers immerse completely into the story and providing the artwork was just amazing. You can tell that Colleen gives her all to her books. It’s realistic with characters full of flaws, situations that are actually typical, struggles that are relatively normal for that age.

It is exciting to think that Confess is being turned into a television show. I am so excited and hope that there is a way that us Aussie fans can watch it.

My recommendation: Prepare to be immersed into the world of CoHo.

Cai xx

