The Florentine Bridge

Vanessa Carnevale

2016

Contemporary Romance

Let It Be Love Challenge, NetGalley Challenge

I received a copy of this ebook in exchange for an honest review.

★★★★★

 

Young Australian artist Mia Moretti has been cancer free for nine months. But her battle with the illness has taken its toll, leaving her depressed and tormented by overwhelming fears. What’s more, she can’t seem to paint anymore. Mia needs a fresh start so when a surprise opportunity to travel to Tuscany presents itself, she takes it. With any luck, this trip will help her find whatever it is she needs to open her heart and start painting again.

What she doesn’t count on is meeting Luca, a handsome Italian mechanic. With his smile, his warmth and his inspirational outlook on all the good things life has to offer, he sweeps her off her feet. As Mia slowly lets down her walls and allows Luca in, her passion for life is reignited and her new perspective begins to inspire her art. But just when she’s ready to let go of her past, will a tragedy threaten her new life with Luca?

The Florentine Bridge was beautifully written. The backdrop of Florence was perfect. For me personally, Italy has always been a hot button. I have always wanted to go, learn the language, eat the food and just live like they do so this book was incredibly easy for me to power through. I couldn’t put it down. Part of me didn’t want to finish the book purely because I was so in love with the setting. The characters were wonderfully written, realistic, emotional and loveable. From Mia to Silvio, I fell in love with every character.

This book had me reevaluate how I look at life. It is an excellent tale of how to live in the now. Don’t let anyone tell you the odds; odds are insignificant in the face of hope and faith. The characters in this book definitely prove that anyone can overcome the odds.

I loved the unpredictability. I thought I had guessed what was happening and then things turned and I was left stunned. This book has everything for a good read!

My recommendation: Get your hands on this book now!

Cai xx

