I’ve been reading quite a lot of Australian authors recently and I thought I would give a nod to my favourites. They re in no particular order as it would be too hard to decide the number one. I am in the midst of a few other books by Aussie authors that could definitely have some influence (looks that way). But as I haven’t finished them, I am leaving them out.

  1. Tess Woods
  2. Liane Moriarty
  3. Natasha Lester
  4. Renee Conoulty
  5. Loretta Hill
  6. Markus Zusak
  7. Melina Marchetta
  8. John Marsden
  9. Jackie French
  10. Mem Fox

 

13563118

Tess Woods

Tess Woods has a way with words. She draws you in and leaves you unable to do anything but read her book! In 2015 Tess released her debut novel, Love at First Flight. I was hooked from the get go. I found that I was surprised at how emphatic I felt towards the characters. I also managed to win a copy of an anthology that featured her short story, Destiny in a Day. Since then, I have been impatiently awaiting the release of Beautiful Messy Love, featured in my Books I Want to Read in 2017 post. Tess has also introduced me to some incredible books by some incredible Australian authors.

Love At First Flight

Goodreads

Tess Woods – Author Facebook Page

Website

322069

Liane Moriarty

I discovered Moriarty thanks to Renee from Hey Said Renee. She had just read Big Little Lies and said that it was a must read now. I saw it a Kmart for $9, bought it immediately and devoured it. I can see why Nicole Kidman sought the rights to turn it into a screenplay. I have since read The Husband’s Secret and more recently The Hypnotist’s Love Story. Liane featured in my Books I Want to Read in 2017 post with Truly Madly Deeply.

Big Little Lies

The Husband’s Secret

The Hypnotist’s Love Story

Truly Madly Guilty

Goodreads

Liane Moriarty Facebook Page

Website

4078079

Natasha Lester

Natasha is one of the wonderful authors I read thanks to Tess’ recommendations. We are actually reading her book, A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald for book club this month and I am excited to re-read it. Lester puts in a lot of research into her books and it really shows. She makes the 1920s come alive! I am eagerly awaiting her next novel, Her Mother’s Secret, coming in March.

A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald

Her Mother’s Secret

Goodreads

Natasha Lester – Author Facebook Page

Website

14782154

Renee Conoulty

Renee started as a book blogger like me! She inspired me to start my own blog and share my reviews. Last year she had her debut with Don’t Mean A Thing. Her book combines her personal experiences with dancing and the Northern Territory. I’ve been recommending this book when I can. It’s a great chick lit read! I am hoping there will be news of the sequel soon. (*wink wink nudge nudge Renee*).

Don’t Mean A Thing

Goodreads

Renee Conoulty – Author Facebook Page

Website

3309472

Loretta Hill

I had seen a review or two from Renee about Hill’s books so when I saw The Grass is Greener on NetGalley, I gave it a shot and fell in love. Her writing style is so easy to read and hard to put down. She has the right amount of mystery and intrigue with romance and humour. She is witty and her female characters are strong. I devour her books when I can get my hands on one.

The Grass is Greener

Goodreads

Loretta Hill – Author Facebook Page

Website

11466

Markus Zusak

One of the best books I have ever read is The Book Thief and the movie did a pretty reasonable job too. This book is beautiful and moving in so many ways. It is full of compassion and hope. I have re-read this book 3 times since I first discovered it, thanks to the Dymocks 101 Book Lovers List. I have The Messenger sitting on my TBR pile waiting to be read.

The Book Thief

The Messenger

Goodreads

Markus Zusak Facebook Page

Website

47104

Melina Marchetta

I had heard so much about Looking For Alibrandi as a teenager and had asked for it one birthday. At the time, they were unable to get it and instead bought me Saving Francesca. I devoured that in a day. Not long after I started my first job, I finally went and bought Looking For Alibrandi and I do not regret it. Marchetta has a way of nailing that teenage angst that most of us go through. Later on I picked up The Piper’s Son and thought exactly the same about the whole coming of age becoming an adult. She just nails it on the head. After writing this, I am going to go back and re-read them.

Looking For Alibrandi

Saving Francesca

The Piper’s Son

Goodreads

Website

28756

John Marsden

My best friend in high school, Amy, loved the Tomorrow series. I never really took much notice until they were to release it as a movie and just had to read it (before the movie of course). I had an awesome friend, Brendan, who I worked with that lent me book after book. They were so addictive. The movie was pretty crap compared to the books but the books were full of action packed drama. Marsden just makes it seem all so realistic, to the point where I believed that Australia could be invaded at any point.

Tomorrow When the War Began

Goodreads

John Marsden Facebook Page

Website

221556

Jackie French

Talk about talent! Jackie French writes everything from picture books to adult books. I have read many of her books, all of them rated 5 stars from me! Her children’s books are witty and humorous. Her junior fiction and young adult novels are just so beautifully written. As well an author she is a historian, an ecologist and an excellent role model for those who suffer from dyslexia. She manages to combine her passions to produce some great books.

Goodreads

Jackie French Facebook Page

Website

2131

Mem Fox

I have been reading Mem Fox since I was a kid. Her books were classics that I would read again and again. Now that I have my own daughter, I am enjoying reading them to her. Our favorites are Possum Magic and Wilson Gordon McDonald Partridge. The books are easy to read and really engaging. Mem Fox has popped up quite a few times when we attended library events as suitable books for bubs. She has written some great books that really foster a love of reading.

Possum Magic

Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge

Goodreads

Website

 

All pictures are curtsey of Goodreads.

Who is you favourite Aussie author?

Cai xx

