Pollyanna

Eleanor H. Porter

1994

Junior Fiction

Library Book

Paperback

★★★★★

 

Pollyanna , a young girl whose father was a pastor, is unexpectedly orphaned and sent to live with her aunt that she has never met. There her positive attitude towards everything clashes with her aunt’s pessimistic ways. Soon Pollyanna wins over everyone with her optimism and has the entire town playing her treasured “glad game”.

This book is so beautiful. I really wish that I had read it when I was younger. Maybe I would have been more positive if I had. The book is enjoyable for adults and children alike. I devoured it. I love Pollyanna’s naivety and innocence. I love her appreciation of anything and everything. Most of all, I love her warm and kind nature towards everyone.

If you have not read this book, you need to. If you have children, read it to them. In this day and age we live in such a negative environment, especially with social media flashing negativity in our faces everyday. It is the perfect book to counter the blues.

My recommendation: This is a must have for the bookshelf.

Cai xx

