2016 is coming to an end. Some people say that it has been a horrible year and they cannot wait for it to be 2017. I on the other hand have embraced 2016 for what it is and cannot wait to see what 2017 has in store for my family. So to end the year, here is my top ten reads of 2016. These books haven’t all been published in 2016, they are just the best books that I have read this year. They are not in any particular order as it is too hard to rank these wonderful books. If you want to read my original review, click on the title.

  1. A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester
  2. Who’s Afraid? by Maria Lewis
  3. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
  4. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  5. Risking Ruin by Mae Wood
  6. Borrowing Trouble by Mae Wood
  7. Outback Promise by Maggie Bolitho
  8. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  9. Beautiful Sacrifice by Jamie McGuire
  10. Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter

 

A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester

(Historical Romance)

This book is so empowering. In a time when a woman was still expected to shut up and look pretty, Evie manages to beak all the rules and become a female doctor in New York circa 1920s. Natasha Lester is an amazing Australian author who’s writing is flawless.

Who’s Afraid? by Maria Lewis

(Supernatural/Paranormal)

I finished this book in record time considering I had a month old baby. Tommi Grayson is a strong and independent woman who discovers an incredible secret while on the search for her father. This book is intense and gripping.

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

(Contemporary Romance)

There are so many things right about this book. This was the first book by Colleen Hoover that I read and I fell in love. I cannot believe it took me so long to read her books.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

(Young Adult)

What a fantastic debut novel! If you haven’t read this book then you seriously need to. A magical world with interesting characters in amongst a rebellion. It is a recipe of perfection.

Risking Ruin by Mae Wood

(Contemporary Romance/Chick Lit)

The first novel by author Mae Wood is a fantastic legal mystery filled with sexy, steamy romance. The first novel in the Pig & Barley series is the beginning of a forbidden romance between Trip Brannon, heir to a large company, and Marisa Tanner, the lawyer employed by Trip’s company. So many things could go wrong and everything could go so right.

Borrowing Trouble by Mae Wood

(Contemporary Romance/Chick Lit)

The sequel to Risking Ruin is just as fantastic as the first book. I cannot wait to read Mae’s next book, Plus One which is set to be released 2017.

Outback Promise by Maggie Bolitho

(Literature)

This book was incredibly intense. I had trouble finishing it purely due to the levels of emotion you go through, especially if you are a parent. The story follows a couple who try to piece their marriage back together after the death of their young son and an affair.

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

(Classic Literature)

I believe that it was the third time I have read this novel and I fell even more in love with it. My understanding of this novel has expanded every time I have read it. It is amazing how I can find parallels with what was going on then compared to what is happening in the world now.

Beautiful Sacrifice by Jamie McGuire

(Contemporary Romance)

Jamie McGuire has followed up with another amazing novel! If you have read Beautiful Disaster, this is the story of one of Travis’ older brothers and his whirlwind romance. You have to be prepared with the tissues though. This novel sucks you in and spits you back out leaving you raw and emotional.

Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter

(Junior Fiction)

I haven’t written my review for this just yet but it was an incredibly uplifting and positive book. If only there were more stories and people like Pollyanna.

What is your top ten for 2016? Have you read any on my list?

Cai xx

