“She was trapped. Trapped by his awful lust, which she could feel jabbing against her hip. She was the woman by the river. She was the one at the mercy of a man. She was the one about to get into trouble she hadn’t asked for, trouble she didn’t deserve.”

Evie Lockhart has her life all planned out for her. She is to marry Charlie and become her mother’s replica but it isn’t what Evie wants. Evie wants to be an obstetrician and make a difference. She wants to do what she wants, listen to the music she wants, dance how she wants and love who she loves. After an incident by the river Evie finds the burning determination to break away and do what she wants, no matter the cost.

I have no negative feedback for this book. It was fantastic and I see why people are raving about it. My only regret is that I didn’t read it earlier.

I admire Evie so much. Her burning desires to achieve what she wants and the way she fights the misogynistic and patriarchal society. Evie is beautifully written character. She works hard, she is kind and loving and she makes plenty of mistakes along the way. She is a strong, compassionate and independent woman. There is not a moment that I don’t love her, even when I think she is making a mistake. I also loved that everyone had a conclusion in the story. It wasn’t clichéd but nicely wrapped up.

You could tell that Natasha Lester has done her research and I admire the amount of work and effort that would have gone into a story like this. This is exactly what I want when I read historical fiction; well researched but still a good story. Lester is truly talented and magical. From the way she sets the scene to the way she conveys how the characters are feeling. I had trouble putting this book down and I swear that if I didn’t have to be an adult, I would have finished this book in one sitting. I could see this as a book that many people who have differing reading preferences would enjoy this book.

My recommendation: New York City in the 1920’s was glamorous and so is this book. Pick it up right now.

Cai xx

TITLE: A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald

AUTHOR: Natasha Lester

GENRE: Historical Romance

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

CATEGORY: NBRC Book of the Month, NetGalley

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 295/150

 

You can purchase A Kiss From Mr. Fitzgerald at any of these sites below:

KINDLE

Amazon

PAPERBACK

Book Depository

AUDIO

Audible

