This week I thought I would do my top ten favourite children’s book in honour of my baby girl turning 10 months old yesterday!

  1. Guess How Much I Love You – Sam McBratney
  2. The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck – Beatrix Potter
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J. K. Rowling
  4. Matilda – Roald Dahl
  5. Oh, The Places You Will Go – Dr. Suess
  6. Where the Wild Things Are – Maurice Sendak
  7. Wombat Stew – Marcia K. Vaughun
  8. The Rainbow Fish – Marcus Pfister
  9. Magic Possum – Mem Fox
  10. Mr. McGee and the Biting Flea – Pamela Allen

Guess How Much I Love You

I remember waking up at my grandparents house and racing out to the bookshelf to grab this book and read it over and over again until it was time for everyone else to wake up. I had this book bought for Victoria before we even agreed to start trying for a baby. When we did find out that I was pregnant, Big W released a range of clothes with the artwork all over it. I put every outfit there on lay-by regardless of whether it was meant to be for a boy or girl.

The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck

I grew up watching the old Petter Rabbit show that use to be on the ABC. Where she was drawing the pictures of the animals at the beginning and the end of the show. I just loved the illustrations. Beatrix Potter was incredibly talented. I remember getting this book and The Tale of Jeremy Fisher as those cute little books with the white covers and I just related to Jemima. Just silly enough that I would often get into trouble over the most trivial of things.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 

What could I say about Harry Potter that hasn’t already been said? The third book in the series is by far my favourite! It’s when Hermione really showed her love for study (something I can relate to), Malfoy gets punched in the face and the introduction of Sirius Black (my favourite character after Hermione).

Matilda

I love reading. I love strong and independent females. So clearly, I loved this book. I did watch the movie first with this one. My mother taped it for me (yes taped on VHS) and I watched it on repeat more times than I could possibly count. It’s my favourite Roald Dahl book and it introduced me to the world of magic.

Oh, The Places You’ll Go

I actually read this for the first time last year after Victoria was born. I absolutely loved this book. I’ve always been a fan of Dr. Suess, but the message in this book is so beautiful it beats the rest. Just need to be positive and have a great attitude and you can so far in life.

Where the Wild Things Are

I remember reading this to my brother when he was little. I loved reading it to him because he was the total opposite of a wild thing. He was pretty placid. The illustrations were different and I could relate to this story more than I should admit. Whenever I got into trouble I would just disappear off into an imaginary world.

Wombat Stew

What Australian does not like this book? Ewey Gooey Yummy Chewy Wombat Stew. This book was so much fun. You know the song off by heart if you’re an Aussie kid. Well at least you should.

The Rainbow Fish

I think that really may be so shallow as to say that I just loved the bright sparkly scales. In fact, I don’t even remember the story but I know that I love those beautiful glittery scales.

Magic Possum

Another beautiful Australian story. Mem Fox has written a few Australian classics now and again what Aussie doesn’t love this story? I cannot wait to read this one to Victoria! I cannot wait until she is old enough to want to me to read it to her again and again.

Mr. McGee and the Biting Flea

I finally got the opportunity to read this to Victoria just the other day. I had been anxiously awaiting the chance to borrow it from the library. She loved the rhythm and the rhyme of the story and as always Pamela Allen does a brilliant job.

So comment below and tell me what your favourite children’s books are!

Cai xx

