Now You’re Speaking My Language

Dr. Gary Chapman

2016

Relationship

NetGalley

Kindle

★★★★

 

‘Chapman encourages spouses to exhibit loyalty, forgiveness, empathy, and commitment to resolving conflict in order to foster spiritual growth. Readers will learn lasting principles for marital growth, how a couple’s relationship with God enhances a marriage, how “oneness” involves not only sex, but also intellectual, spiritual, emotional, and social oneness, and how communication is the key to it all. Helping readers to navigate their marriage with chapters on “Unhealthy Patterns of Communication,” “Five Levels of Communication,” as well as several chapters on the different types of intimacy, Chapman considers this title his best work.’

This book was very factual and very practical. Chapman did not make things complicated. He was very simplistic in his explanations making it an easy read. I ended up realizing that the biggest problem in my own personal relationship was our communication was seriously lacking. I have begun to employ these techniques and things have definitely improved. I find though that I already need to re-read this book and refresh myself. There are sections at the end of each chapter for you to visit each topic with your partner and see what it is you could do to improve the communication within your relationship.

This book is very heavy on the Christian side. Which makes sense when you know he was a preacher but for those who are not interested in anything to do with religion, it is not very appealing.

My recommendation: Useful if you think that communication with your partner needs some work.

Cai xx

TITLE: Now You’re Speaking My Language

AUTHOR: Gary Chapman

GENRE: Non-Fiction, Self-Help, Relationship

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

CATEGORY: NetGalley, iPad

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 275/150

 

You can purchase Now You’re Speaking My Language at any of these sites below:

KINDLE

Amazon

PAPERBACK

Book Depository

AUDIO

Audible

