I love sharing my top ten with you all! This week I thought I would do classics! I absolutely love classic novels and I still have so many to read! I had always thought that a classic was a popular book published before my birth. As I sat down to write this, I realized that this definition couldn’t possibly be right, as a classic to me wouldn’t necessarily be a classic to you. So after a little research I can confidently tell you that I still have no idea exactly what constitutes as a classic. Depending on where you go for your information, there seems to be a different definition. So for this article, I shall stick to my original definition, published before 1991.

  1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  3. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  4. Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  5. Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery
  6. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  7. The Awakening by Leo Tolstoy
  8. The BFG by Roald Dahl
  9. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  10. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Wuthering Heights

This is my all time favourite classic and probably my all time favourite book. I will be very frank. When I read this book, I was going through a lot of personal issues that were eerily similar to Miss Catherine. I could relate to this book on a level I cannot describe. The feelings, actions and motives. Luckily for me, I got my act together and ended up having a completely different fate to Miss Catherine. I seem to be on my way to a more Cinderella ending than a Wuthering Heights ending.

Pride and Prejudice

Until I had read Wuthering Heights, this had been the ultimate classic novel. This is the book that I compare all books to. Jane Austen was way ahead of her time and I can only imagine the scandal after she released her novels. I found it so easy to read and a great lesson in having too much pride and being prejudicial. I believe that even today people could benefit from reading this book and taking onboard the lessons of judging a book by its cover. Unfortunately prejudice and discrimination are still huge in today’s society. Now I don’t expect to be rid of it completely but it is such a shame that it still is rife today.

To Kill A Mockingbird

I first saw the movie when I was quite young and that courtroom scene had always stuck out in my mind. I never really understood it until I finally picked up the book about 5 years ago and read it. Nearly all in one sitting. In fact, I had borrowed my mother’s treasured copy and after the first night of reading, went and bought my own copy and finished it the next day. Even after recently finishing it for the third time, I understood it even more. It’s like every time I pick it up, I am taught something new. What scares me the most though is that people think that society on a whole has changed since the time this book was set in. In reality we have just replaced the victims of discrimination. This book reminded me that we teach our children that the actions of Hitler were wrong, that the killing of millions of Jewish was wrong, yet we deem it okay to exercise hatred and discrimination on a similar scale.

Sherlock Holmes

I read the entire collection of Sherlock Holmes at the beginning of last year. I could not believe that I hadn’t read it sooner. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a clever man. The way he was thinking in order to come up with the logical responses as to how Holmes would solve the cases! I consider myself a pretty logical thinker but nearly every single case took me by surprise and I couldn’t figure it out myself. Now if you know me, I love a book that I cannot predict. It fascinates me when I cannot guess how it all goes. I am curious to learn more about the man behind Sherlock Holmes, so if you know of any good sources, let me know!

Anne of Green Gables

I am still making my way through this series. I think I am up to number 5 now. I cannot believe I had never read this as a child. It is my type of book. Anne is a total dreamer. A dreamer that never ever lets anyone else tell her that she cannot do something. She is fiercely loyal and incredibly stubborn. To me she is a role model to girls and women everywhere. In a time where women were still second-class, she stood out and not just because of her red hair! If you have daughters, please get them to read these books! We should be raising girls like Anne Shirley. Girls should be taught to use their imaginations and that being successful is following your dreams to attainment not that success is a well paying job or a bunch of kids. Unless that is their dream.

A Christmas Carol

I personally think that a classic should have a moral to the story, a lesson on which everyone can draw on every time they read the book. There is no greater lesson to revisit every Christmas than the one of charity, love and giving. I cannot wait to read this story to Victoria at Christmas time. Charles Dickens is a master of stories.

The Awakening

I am in the process of completing the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge and had accidentally downloaded Leo Tolstoy’s book instead of Kate Chopin’s. I decided to read it anyway and I am so thankful I did. What a great story about how every action has a consequence. It is also a great reminder that everything happens for a reason and sometimes penance comes in the unexpected. Tolstoy is talented and very philosophical.

The BFG

Just typing the title makes my heart lift and puts a smile on my face. It truly is a beautiful tale. Just read it if you haven’t. Roald Dahl was magical and I don’t know if there will ever be anyone as great as him ever again.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

I read this as a part of the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge. Yet again I couldn’t believe I hadn’t read it earlier. What a beautiful tale! Knocks Tom Sawyer out of the park. I cannot wait to share this with V too. She already ha her own copy. I hope that she never feels like Huck did. I hope that she understands what really happened in those days and how friendship can be found in the most unlikely of places.

Lord of the Rings

Tolkien is another master of storytelling. The world he created with Lord of the Rings is like no other. He had so many notes to accompany his stories. He invented the entire elven language. Some editions you can buy has the characters they used and everything. He truly immersed himself in the details and it paid off. The books were fantastic to read. It’s like you were right there. There is no universe that can truly compare to Middle Earth. Others have tried and while they are good, they just don’t come close to Middle Earth.

Now I want to know what your definition of a classic is and what makes your top ten!

Cai xx

