With the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I thought I would tackle my favourite bookworms. What bookworm doesn’t love other bookworms?

 

  1. Hermione Granger – Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  2. Rory Gilmore – Gilmore Girls
  3. Matilda – Matilda by Roald Dahl
  4. Oprah Winfrey
  5. Reese Witherspoon
  6. Emma Roberts
  7. Atticus Finch – To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  8. Scout Finch – To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  9. Belle – Beauty and the Beast
  10. Lisa Simpson – The Simpsons

 

Hermione Granger

Hermione was an absolute inspiration to me growing up. I was always a bookworm, always had a book in my hand and was always teased mercilessly. Hermione normalized it for me and encouraged me to keep going. Now I am running a blog and making friends with all sorts. To me, Hermione was the turning point for bookworms. People stopped viewing them as weirdoes and started thinking it was cool to be a bookworm.

 

Rory Gilmore

Obviously my list is full of bookworms in general, not just the ones in literature. Rory Gilmore is my soul sister. Rory has inspired plenty of people around the world to read, read, and read. There is a list of all the books she was seen reading floating around and I am currently making my way through that list. There are over 300 books on that list.

 

Matilda

I watched the movie before I read the book. Yeah I know, don’t say it. I soon became obsessed with Matilda. I had the book bought for me after my Mum taped it for me (yes, taped it on VHS) and I watched it on repeat. Every single day I watched Matilda. When my brother became sick, I longed for a Miss Honey to come and take me away. I hope my daughter grows up with same passionate love as Matilda for books and learning.

 

Oprah Winfrey

Oprah had her infamous Book Club and pretty much any book she backed, became a best seller. I think just mentioning her name explains it all. Maybe one day I will go out of my way to read all of the books she endorsed.

 

Reese Witherspoon

Reese is another celebrity with her own book club. She also has her own production company and frequently seeks the rights to turning books into movies and television series. The movie Wild that she starred in was a book she had read and the production for Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies has begun.

 

Emma Roberts

Emma is the niece of the famous Julia Roberts. I followed Emma on Instagram way way way back and loved that she posted pictures of the books she read. She actually inspired me to start posting the books I had read. It was a skip, hop and a jump away from Goodreads and the beginning of this journey.

 

Atticus Finch

Atticus Finch shows you why it pays to be a well-educated bookworm. A highly intelligent lawyer who was beyond his year in wisdom, he was had morals that others didn’t. He didn’t care for what was proper, just what was right.

 

Scout Finch

Scout takes after her Daddy. While there wasn’t a huge focus on the books she read or her reading, Harper Lee did let you know that she did love reading. It was evident that she too was wise beyond her years and I think we can safely attribute that to her father’s love of reading. I can only imagine how her love of books shaped her for the rest of her life.

 

Belle

Really, we all know that Belle married the Beast for his library. She may have loved him but her real motivator was that library. You know what? I would much rather the library than Gaston. She too, was ostracized for her love of books. I admire her for never caring what everyone else thought.

 

Lisa Simpson

Now who didn’t love Lisa Simpson! Poor thing was frequently teased for being so smart. If only she had Hermione Granger around when she first appeared on our TV screens. She doesn’t even win with a mega awesome library like Belle did! Lisa drew the short straw. She made my list because I feel sorry for her.

 

Who makes your top ten?

Cai xx

