“’It’s all give and take,’ he says. ‘In the end, that’s what life is.’”

George Johnson is an old pensioner who dreads Alzheimer’s and is constantly reflecting on life before he lost his wife Pen. Angie is a young single Mum who is still a child in many ways, making bad choices, using people and dating the wrong guys. Rory, Angie’s young daughter is always caught up in her mother’s bad choices and is in desperate need of stability. When Angie gets up and leaves Rory living with George, he gives her that stability.

While this book was a relatively easy read, it really draws attention to issues that are rife here in Australia. These issues mainly surround children’s welfare. The issue of how a mother can be unfit yet still maintain custody of her child simply because she is the biological mother. How someone who is more deserving cannot then take in that child even after the mother has abandoned the child, because they are not related. How the media dictates how people should think, especially when they twist words to sell headlines. How the foster system is so dysfunctional that there are more horror stories than good stories. It also addresses the issue of infertility and how previous generations dealt with things differently and reminds you of how fortunate it is that we have the facilities to help infertility here.

This book challenged my thinking. I love a book that does this. It was enough for me to reconsider where I was heading the law field. I always believed that I wouldn’t cope with dealing with the horror stories but after reading this book, I feel compelled to research more into this topic. I love a book like this.

My only complaint was the beginning took a while to get into.

My recommendation: If you like a book to challenge your thinking, give this a try.

Cai xx

TITLE: Mercy Street

AUTHOR: Tess Evans

GENRE: Adult Fiction

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review as well as a copy from a Goodreads Giveaway.

CATEGORY: Won Books, NetGalley

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 268/150

 

You can purchase Mercy Street at any of these sites below:

KINDLE

Amazon

PAPERBACK

Booktopia

