Tuesday’s Top Ten is my new weekly feature where I feature my top ten of something book related. Last month I mentioned my book boyfriends a few times so I thought that would be a good place to start. Any serious bookworm has a few book boyfriends up her sleeve.

  1. Jeremy Malory – A Loving Scoundrel by Johanna Lindsey
  2. Darcy – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  3. Dimitri Belakov – Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  4. Eric Northman – The Southern Vampire Mysteries by Charlaine Harris
  5. Trip Brannon – Pig and Barley by Mae Wood
  6. Trenton Maddox – Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire
  7. Adrian Ivashkov– Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
  8. Noah Calhoun – The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
  9. Augustus Waters – The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
  10. Jacob Jankowski – Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Jeremy Malory

A Loving Scoundrel was the first novel by Johanna Lindsey that I had ever read. It was the book that made me fall in love with the Malory men but there is a special place in my heart for Jeremy. To begin with he is unbelievably attractive with his blue eyes and black hair inherited from his gypsy Great Grandmother.

As a confirmed bachelor, there was no way Jeremy was going to marry anyone until he fell in love with Danni. Their story is magical to me. Although there are a few things that she puts up with that I wouldn’t, I don’t know if anyone could ever knock Jeremy Malory off of the number one spot.

Mr. Darcy

Do I need say anymore than his name to explain why he is number 2? There is something undeniably sexy about a man who can admit that he was wrong. Especially for the period of time that Jane Austen wrote in. Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth are my number one book couple.

My biggest problem with Mr. Darcy is that I can never really decide on which movie star I prefer as my Darcy. Colin Firth and Tom Macfadyen both do the job so well. Both are sexy and both come across as classist, stubborn and snobbish. However as I read the book first, I think Macfadyen is closer to what I had always imagined.

Dimitri Belakov

I think this is the closest that I have had to having a crush on a teacher. I get why Rose was attracted to him. Strong, fit, protective (without going into Twilight obsessive mode), compassionate and I always love a strong work ethic. Oh and then there is the Russian accent. I love me a good accent.

It was great to read about a man that had strong morals and liked to follow the rules. Sometimes the whole bad boy thing gets really old.

Eric Northman

Unless you are this bad boy, this bad boy never ever gets old. Literally. I have to make an admission now, which will probably be a little more obvious when you finish the list. I have a thing for vampires. I don’t know why but I do. And Eric Northman is my favourite (except for Angel but he is television not book).

Eric is like a Norse God. Blonde hair and blue-eyed with a great butt. Clearly living forever suits Eric. Before being turned he was a Viking warrior, meaning he is a little blood thirsty by nature (see what I did there?) and very protective of what he considers his. It is a little Twilight-esque but it works in a different way. While he can be very cruel and calculating, he does have a softer side that is endearing when you read it.

Trip Brannon

Trip Brannon. Ahhh Trip Brannon. You need to get onto this series if you haven’t. Mae Wood does such a great job at describing a slightly more realistic man than most of the other men on my list. Where to begin?

He is persistent. He has been watching Marisa (in a non-creepy manner) for a while and even played a little trickery in order to get a date with her. He is willing to risk ruin to have Marisa and while she is a little more hesitant, clearly his prowess pays off. He is athletic and intelligent (I LOVE THIS COMBO). He isn’t just another trust fund baby, even though it appears he gets everything handed to him on silver platter. He did have to work for his position. The most lovable thing about Trip? His undying love for his family. He would literally make the earth move for those he loves. I love the loyalty and I love the love.

Trenton Maddox

Older brother to Travis Maddox, he has suffered the loss of his mother and an accident that killed his girlfriend Mackenzie. He is the damaged book boyfriend who has his own demons to overcome. Growing up with just his brothers, he has a temper and doesn’t hesitate to jump in the fight to help his brothers.

He is fiercely loyal to those he loves and persistent like Trip at number 5. Not only is Trenton fit but also he is a tattoo artist. Which sounds unbelievably sexy as it doesn’t sound like he is covered in piercings like the tattooist we go to here.

Adrian Ivashkov

Adrian is from the same series as Dimitri Belakov, Vampire Academy. Richelle Mead then went on to write a sister series, Bloodlines where Adrian features as the main man. I am so very thankful that Mead decided to extend the story line in this manner.

Adrian in some ways is the polar opposite to Dimitri. He is the ultimate bad boy. He is quick to break the rules and push all the boundaries. He too though can be forever loyal to those he loves. He will do anything, literally, for those he loves. And, he is a vampire!

Noah Calhoun

If you have read or seen The Notebook, you will know why he has made this list. Noah is old school. There are not many made like him these days. The old school romance, the undying love, and those letters he wrote and not to mention staying with her after she could no longer remember him.

Augustus Waters

Another example of if you have read it or seen it, you will know what I mean. The fact that he uses his wish for her is unbelievably romantic. Okay. I can’t write much on this because it will spoil for those who haven’t read it and just thinking about it always leave me emotionally destroyed.

Jacob Jankowski

I am seeing a reoccurring theme here. I love these men who are persistent in a complete non-creepy way. I found Jacob to be similar to Noah, just incredibly sweet and old school. He should have been scared off but he wasn’t. He persevered.

That’s my top ten. I hope that you all enjoy the change of pace here on the blog. Now I want to know who is in your top ten. Please comment below!

