Welcome to another one of the new weekly features here on The Bookfeed Blog. Friday’s Feature will review a book published in the current year.

“That’s the problem with this world. Too many people caught up in expectations of what others can do for them or help them become, instead of taking their own risks to succeed.”

After they arrive for a music festival, 3 mothers mysteriously disappear. The Book Club Widowers follows the two years following their disappearance. Things are not the same for the families, friends and the police of Daytona Beach while trying to solve the mystery. The families in particular battle to establish whether they should move on as if they are dead or hold out hope that they are just missing.

I probably would not have picked this out on my own, but I am glad the author messaged me asking to review it. This was such a surprise. I was hooked from the beginning. My head was full of theories and I had plenty of suspicions. I loved the fact that I had these suspicions but there was nothing to hint that I was right or wrong. This book was so unpredictable. I don’t know that there is much I can write without giving a whole lot away.

The plot was excellent. I couldn’t see any holes in it. The characters were vey well developed and relatable. I wouldn’t want to be in their position at all. I felt their anguish, confusion and pain.

The reason for my 4 star rating is that my attention did wane for a bit around the middle. I started to get frustrated that I wasn’t sure where it was going. It felt like it was waffling slightly. It did pick up again to a point where I couldn’t put it down at all. So it was worth it in the end.

I will now have to look into other novels by De Marco. Huge thanks for sending this book to me for review!

My recommendation: if you love a good mystery, stick this one out to the end.

Cai xx

TITLE: The Book Club Widowers

AUTHOR: John Michael De Marco

GENRE: Mystery, Thriller

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: This eBook was sent to me by the author in exchange for a review.

CATEGORY: Kindle

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 268/150

 

You can purchase The Book Cub Widowers at any of these sites below:

KINDLE

Amazon

