“But now he was in another war, for his life, not his country.”

Alec Petrov was sold to a Russian Mafiya boss as a child but has managed to escape that life until now. Kate Kingston’s father has been receiving letters threatening her life. In order to protect them both, they are sent to Barefoot Bay with an alias. Never having met before there is an instant attraction that both Alec and Kate try to deny but will playing a married couple break their restraint?

I am going to start with the negative feedback here. There was nothing spectacular about this book. There was nothing screaming 5 star rating, must recommend to everyone I know. The plot was pretty standard and fairly predictable.

However, I couldn’t put it down and when I had to, I couldn’t wait to pick it up again. It was just what I needed. It was a book that I didn’t have to think so hard about. I could sit and enjoy a simple romantic story without having to analyze everything. The characters were funny and the story as whole could be plausible, probability of occurring is next to zip but it is still not too ridiculously unrealistic.
Barefoot with a Bodyguard is the first of its series but is a part of a larger universe written by Roxanne St. Claire. I haven’t read any of the others but I did like this book enough to download some others of hers. As soon as my book ban is lifted, I will be purchasing as much of the universe as I can.

My recommendation: this is just what the doctor ordered if you have been snowed down in reading for reviews!

Cai xx

TITLE: Barefoot with a Bodyguard

AUTHOR: Roxanne St. Claire

SERIES: Barefoot Undercover #1, Barefoot Bay Universe #12

GENRE: Romance, Action

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: I downloaded this book for free from iBooks.

CATEGORY: Embrace Your Inner Child, iPhone

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 250/150

 

You can purchase Barefoot with a Bodyguard at any of these sites below:

KINDLE

Amazon

PAPERBACK

Barnes and Noble

