“We could all have been killed – or worse, expelled.”

Harry Potter was orphaned as a baby after Lord Voldemort (yeah, I am not afraid to say his name out aloud) attempted to kill him. Being orphaned meant that he grew up with the muggles not knowing that he was a wizard. That is until letters start arriving from Hogwarts. Harry’s first year is filled with magic and adventure as he discovers a plot to steal a valuable stone kept hidden at the school.

It was magical (pun intended) to revisit this book again. I have read this book more times than I can count but it has been quite a while since I last read it. So long that for some reason, my memory had the first movie in mind. Turns out that the movie did take a lot of liberties, such as the wingardium leviosa scene.

Now, I am sure that you have all seen some pretty crazy Harry Potter theories. I thought I would take my reread as an opportunity to dispel some of the more outrageous ones. One that I have read recently is that Nagini is the snake that Harry set free in the beginning of the book. This cannot be possible as the snake Harry frees was born in captivity. The snakes are also not the same type of snake.

“Alas, the first thing you ask me, I cannot tell you. Not today. Not now. You will know, one day…”

I can now see clearly how Rowling sets the story up. She has so many little hints throughout the book that make so much more sense when you have finished the series. For instance, after Harry has saved the stone from Quirrel and is in the infirmary having a discussion with Dumbledore about Voldemort, Harry asks why he wants to kill him. Dumbledore’s reply sets up information we find out from the fifth book onwards. I had always thought that the quote up above meant that Dumbledore did not know why. Now that I am older and wiser, I can see that he really meant that it was just not the time for Harry to know.

It has been over 17 years since I first read this book and I will always have a huge spot in my heart for this series. It has gotten me through some difficult times. It was always my escape as a child and even now as an adult. Now to end with a much loved quote.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

Cai xx

TITLE: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

AUTHOR: J.K. Rowling

SERIES: Harry Potter #1

GENRE: Junior Fiction, Magic, Supernatural, Adventure

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: From my personal library

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 180/150

 

You can purchase Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone at any of these sites below:

KINDLE

Amazon

PAPERBACK

Booktopia

