“The further you go down a road, the further you have to walk back.”

“The tragedy in this whole sorry business is you Sam. Ditch the self-suffering. Get some balls.”

“I know: I am becoming bitter.”

London 1999. Sam and his girlfriend have recently broken up, causing Sam to spiral. He hates work, hates Sarah and hates his life. He invents scenarios to get through the day and takes every opportunity to drink his sorrows away.

I find it hard to find something positive in this book. Except maybe that the characters are clearly well thought out.

I found Sam to be a misogynistic, pathetic, narcissistic and egotistical. He cheats on his girlfriend, deliberately drives her away then sinks into a depression over her leaving. I wanted to grab Sam by the shoulders and shake him. I get depression. I do. But seriously? You didn’t want her anymore, then she leaves you and you all of a sudden decide you want her again? Argh! Just argh! The worst bit is the encouragement from his friends. His friends that knew he was cheating and not only turned a blind-eye but then encourage him in his misery instead of giving him a real hand up. Except Tam, I liked Tam.

The story had no real plot line, making it incredibly hard to finish it. In fact, I found myself skimming through about 75% of the book. The only reason I persevered to the end was the opportunity to provide an honest review.

While this review is my honest opinion, it is negative because it is not my cup of tea. It however may be yours.

Cai xx

TITLE: Remember to Breathe

AUTHOR: Simon Pont

GENRE: Adult Fiction

RATING: 2/5

PLATFORM: I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

GOODREADS CHALLENGE: 163/150

