Today’s session of Babes’n’Books focused on families, multiculturalism and diversity. It is great to show a child multiculturalism and diversity from as young as possible in my opinion as discrimination is a taught behavior, children are not born with it. Especially living here in Darwin, I believe it is essential. Karama library actually has a series of books that are written in both the Indigenous language as well as English. Melinda also showed us a book called Mirror by Jeannie Baker. When you open up the book it has two sides to it, showing what life is like in Western Society on one side and other cultures on the other. I will definitely be looking for this book.

Today’s feature author was the amazing Mem Fox. She has been a favourite of mine for a long time now. I remember reading Possum Magic when I was a child and I had bought Victoria a copy before she was even born. Mem Fox is a huge advocate for reading to your children from birth in order to encourage and foster the love of reading. She encourages talking to your child about what is on the pages as well as reading the story. Fox also encourages rereading your child’s favourites as well as introducing new stories.

We also played with musical instruments today while singing multicultural songs and songs about family. Victoria was more focused on throwing up and trying to eat the instruments. Ahhh the joys of babies!

TITLE: Where is the Green Sheep?

AUTHOR: Mem Fox

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: Library Picture Book

Such a great Mem Fox book to open up with. With its simple words and illustrations that teach opposites to young children, it is no wonder that Mem Fox is so successful. This is already in the Library of Victoria Rose with a Green Sheep and all!

TITLE: Me and My Dad

AUTHOR: Sally Morgan

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: Library Picture Book

I seem to be a suck for any book that gives a shout out to the great Dad’s out there. The illustrations were beautiful and the ending warmed my heart. I absolutely need to buy Victoria this book for her library.

TITLE: I Love My Baby Because …

AUTHOR: Paullina Simons

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: Library Picture Book

I had no idea that Paullina Simons had written a children’s book as well as her popular novels. I learnt something new today. I must also find this book for Victoria’s personal library. Yet again it has beautiful illustrations (I am big on this, can you tell?) and a book that any mother can relate to. I am also a sucker for books about the mother/child relationship. I obviously want my daughter to know how much her Mumma loves her.

So now I am curious. What do you look for in 5 star children’s book?

Cai xx

