Wendy is on a search to find her father and establish her sense of identity. Her journey takes her to Cape Lambert in the Pilbara where OH&S has been fairly non-existent and cyclones are a real possibility. Here she takes on the job as Site Safety Manager where she earns the nickname Sergeant for her attention to detail.

Gavin is in the Witness Protection Program, meaning that while he is on the job, he is to lay low and keep quiet. He finds being detached is hard when he meets the blonde and leggy Wendy.

I barely wrote any notes in my reading journal about this book because I just could not put it down. Loretta Hill is an incredibly talented author who just captures the Australian lifestyle to the tee! After I read The Grass is Greener, I began my mission to read more by Hill so when I saw this at the library, I had to check it out.

This book is way better than I thought it would be! It is a great mixture of humour, drama, romance and intrigue. Ross was continuously asking “what?” because if I wasn’t laughing at something then I was saying “ohhhhhh”. I also wanted to smack him out for interrupting me while I was reading. I found this book to be a lot sexier than The Grass is Greener.

I am now on a mission to read as much Loretta Hill as possible. Library here I come!

Cai xx

TITLE: The Girl in the Hard Hat

AUTHOR: Loretta Hill

GENRE: Romance, Adult Fiction, Australiana

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: Library Paperback

