Since Mumma wasn’t feeling well, Daddy accompanied us to the latest session of Babes’n’Books. Thank goodness because Mumma was not up to doing any of the dancing or singing and afterwards came straight home to bed. After borrowing three books that she wasn’t suppose to.

This however meant that I had difficulty in paying attention to the books. To say I wasn’t really with it is an understatement. So therefore, my reviews will be really lacking.

This session was about the apps and websites that you could use for your child such as Guided Access, Total Baby, The Little Big Book Club and the Raising Children website. The actual information part of the session was very short and sweet. Which for the children attending was a godsend as they were all a bit rowdy, Victoria included. There was no feature author for this session or any real theme to the books.

TITLE: The Boss Baby

AUTHOR: Maria Frazee

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: Picture Book

This book was hilarious. The more we read, the more I realized that I am completely wrong when I joke that I am the boss of the house. Clearly Victoria is the boss. She dictates what she wants, when she wants it and is not afraid to tell us how she feels. It had a great storyline and beautiful illustrations.

TITLE: Where’s My Teddy?

AUTHOR: Jez Alborough

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: Picture Book

I absolutely adored the illustrations in this book. It reminded me so much of the books I would read in class when I was a small child.

TITLE: Noisy Monkey Loves to Play

AUTHOR: Igloo

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 3/5

PLATFORM: Puppet Play Book

This was one of those books with a puppet that squeaks. It was hilarious watching Victoria as she was looking for her squeaky Sophie toy every time it squeaked!

TITLE: Guess Who? At the Zoo

AUTHOR: Jeanette Rowe

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: Picture Book

This book uses flaps to engage the children while asking if they know what animal makes the particular noise.

TITLE: Whose Nose and Toes

AUTHOR: John Butler

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 5/5

PLATFORM: Picture Book

This had the most gorgeous and quite realistic illustrations! This book is great for the slightly older preschooler to get them guessing the animals.

TITLE: I Kissed the Baby

AUTHOR: Mary Murphy

GENRE: Children’s Book

RATING: 4/5

PLATFORM: Picture Book

I barely remember this book being read. For me, I was out of it and it was a blink and you miss it thing. Ross however gave it four stars and he is a lot morecritical with children’s books than I am.

Cai xx

