It’s Canada in the 1960s; everyone is obsessed with the movie Cleopatra and the infamous affair between Liz Taylor and Richard Burton. A small community of Ukrainians travels from city to spend their summer in Kalyna Beach. The women and children spend all summer while the men spend their weeks in the city. For the most part, the summer is uneventful but there is a hint of drama and tension in the air.

This novel was different for me. It was a third person point of view that switched between the different characters, of which there were many. I felt that book was climaxing to some big huge event and this kept me reading, but alas, nothing huge.

I say this, but in contrast, I suppose that some of the events and issues could be considered controversial for the time period it is set in.

To be honest, I don’t really know what to say about this book. It wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t that great either. I found that it was not what the blurb described and the Ladies Lending Library was only mentioned a few times.

It is hard to give a good review for such a book because I don’t like it and I don’t dislike it. I am completely apathetic towards this book. I am extremely glad that I didn’t purchase this book.

Cai xx

TITLE: The Ladies Lending Library

AUTHOR: Janice Kulyk Keefer

GENRE: Adult Fiction, Women’s Fiction

RATING: 3/5

PLATFORM: Library Paperback

