Alice Bell is left orphaned after her family dies in a car crash on her birthday. The fatal accident reveals to Alice an existence she didn’t believe in. Zombies. Her life is turned upside down as she changes schools and meets others who like her, can see the monsters. Ali must train harder than ever before if she hopes to avenge her family’s death.

Alice in Zombieland is an alternative take on the classic by Lewis Carroll. With a white rabbit cloud and a beautiful blonde named Alice being stuck in a world she never thought existed, the comparison stops there.

This book is your typical young adult novel with a whole lot of attitude, wit and humor. I found it to be more like Buffy the Vampire Slayer but with zombies instead of vampires. Ali in so many ways reminded me of Buffy, I couldn’t help but keep reading. The further I got into the book, the harder it was to put down. It was intriguing and I wanted to see where it was going. I really appreciated the fact that in this series, zombies are real zombies. Not the made from a viral infection from walking dead, but the magical, supernatural zombie that stems from the folklore of voodoo and witches.

BUT… It is definitely aimed at teenage girls. Between the drooling over hot guys and references like T and A (tits and ass, I had to look that one up), it actually made me feel old. Like really old. This book was incredibly clichéd and quite Twilight-esque (yes, I made that up). Cole possessive nature and indecisiveness about his relationship with Ali reminded me so much of Edward, it was reidiculous. Not to mention the whole Justin vs. Cole thing, was eerily like the whole Edward vs. Jacob thing. To me the Twilight-esque is getting really old now.

This book had me asking one question, which I really didn’t expect when I downloaded this book. Why is it hot and cool to have an incredibly overprotective male dictate your life? It is NOT cute to have such a possessive person in your life. Protective is cute, dictating what you can and cant do, who you can and cant see, that is not cute. It is emotional abuse, that more often than not has a detrimental affect later on. I am worried that books like this and Twilight are teaching young girls that this behavior from males is acceptable. From someone who has been there and done that, it’s not cute, it’s horrifying and isolating. It is NOT acceptable and I wish authors would quit making it out to be something that it is not.

The only reason I am giving this book, such a rating is because I do applaud the way that Ali does stand up for herself. She is a kick ass woman. It is witty and humourous and the cover is gorgeous.

Cai xx

TITLE: Alice in Zombieland

AUTHOR: Gena Showalter

SERIES: White Rabbit Chronicles #1

GENRE: YA, Supernatural, Paranormal

RATING: 3/5

PLATFORM: Free iBook on iPhone 6

