Now that I have a daughter, I seem to have this need to collect everything! So when our local newspaper ran a promotion where you bought a Dr. Suess book everyday for 14 days when you bought the paper, I jumped on the opportunity.

It’s a great collection that includes; The Cat in the Hat, The Lorax, ABC, There is a Wocket in my Pocket, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, Oh Say You Can Say, And to Think That I Saw it on Mulberry Street, Green Eggs and Ham, Oh The Places You’ll Go (my personal favourite), Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut, Thidwick the Big-Hearted Moose, The Foot Book and finally Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now!

We collected all 14 and the collectors box. I love promotions such as these because it encourages children to read and Dr. Suess is all about helping children learn to read.

Did you know that Dr. Suess was rejected multiple times before eventually being approached about writing stories to improve children’s interest in reading? 

Did you know that his books are colour coded to the level of reading that your child is at? Blue backed is for pre-readers, green for beginners and yellow for the more confident and fluent reader. Isn’t it just sensational?!

Now my dilemma… Do I go and buy surplus books that are left over so Victoria has copies she can trash? At $2.60 it is still cheaper than buying them in the book store! 

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

Cai xx

