Here’s a little know fact unless you actually follow my Goodreads progress… I love to read books that help personal development and growth.

I’ve struggled with depression and anxiety over the past few years and have learnt that taking medication is only one factor to dealing with these mental illnesses. In my search to not be so reliant upon medication, I found reading positive affirmations helped significantly. 

I also found that if I dug through my faults and found the good bits, I could highlight the good bits and help soften the faults. Like a domino effect, highlighting and softening makes interactions with others easier and therefore I am less likely to spiral into the dark tube of overanalyses. I know I’m not perfect but it’s easier on everyone when we are dealing with Happy Caitlin.

So this brings me to my journey of positive personal development and growth. It started with The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo and has gradually increased to where I am today. For the most part, I like to think that I have personally improved. Financially, academically, mentally and physically, I seem to be better off as I’ve learnt so much about myself. I still have bad days, but I find they are easier to get through. 

The latest book on my journey has been 8 Attributes of Great Achievers, outlining (funnily enough) 8 attributes of people who have been quite successful in their field. Taylor outlines each attribute (responsible, creator, independent, honest, humble, optimistic, vision and persistent) and how it applied to great achievers such as Walt Disney and Abraham Lincoln.

I learnt more from this book than I have from most of the others I have read in the past year. I found the stories to be quite empowering and uplifting. For me the best part is that it doesn’t success doesn’t necessarily mean financially (although there is a huge focus on this) but any goal or dream that one may have.

If you too love personal development or are looking to try something new, give this a try. You might be surprised at what you learn.

Cai xx

Title: 8 Attributes of Great Achievers 

Author: Cameron C. Taylor

Series: 1/2

Genre: Personal Development, Business, Non-Fiction

Rating: 4/5

Platform: Paperback Book

