Marisa Tanner is a confident lawyer who holds her own in the courtrooms of Memphis. Trip Brannon is the heir and General Counsel to the large Memphis company, Branco. Branco happens to be Marisa’s largest client and Trip just happens to be her kryptonite. As having sexual relations with a client is frowned upon, Marisa and Trip have a sexy and fun secret relationship while trying to figure out why all of a sudden several sexual harassment lawsuits have been filed against Branco.

This book was so fun to read! As a law student, I loved the legal aspects to it. The mystery of uncovering a conspiracy on top! Ahhhh I just want to read this book again! The characters in this story are believable, as is the story line. It wasn’t the standard run of the mill romance novel in my opinion. I felt there was a bit more umph to it than the standard, which makes it all the more appealing. It was different but realistic.

Normally I find that sex scenes fall into 3 categories:

  1. Fifty Shades of Grey wannabes. Usually ending with an amateur feel to it.
  2. Over written sex scenes. Usually I skim and speed read these.
  3. The underwritten sex scenes. Usually I get angry and think “what was the point of putting a sex scene in if you don’t follow through”.

Wood however wrote her sex scenes perfectly in my opinion. Not trying to be Fifty Shades, not over written and not under written! The sex scenes were actually enjoyable to read.

I loved this novel so much that I am extremely tempted to break my Buying Book Ban to buy the sequel, Borrowing Trouble and find out what happens next with Trip and Marisa!

Cai xx

Title: Risking Ruin

Author: Mae Wood

Series: Give Me Memphis #1

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Chick Lit, Adult Fiction

Rating: 5/5

Platform: I received this book from the author as a part of a Facebook competition

Picture: Goodreads

