Erin Travers takes the leap to leave Sydney for Mallee Bay in South Australia with her two teenage sons. The town is small and heavily focused on Oyster Farming. A typical everyone knows everyone Australian town. Problems start with the theft of oysters and someone is stalking Erin while she tries to create a new life for her and her sons. Mike is trying to move on with a new life in Mallee Bay while Ryan wants to be back in Sydney with his father.

This book was so well written, I thought I knew what was going to happen or who it was and the author had me second guessing myself all the time. I LOVE it when I find a book unpredictable as it isn’t often that it happens. In fact, I felt that there was really only one other book that I have read in the last year that I could not predict.

The characters were very likeable and easy to connect to. I was full of hope for Erin, wanting her to have the fresh start she was craving, wanting her to find love and most of all I was hopeful she would find peace. I felt sorry for Ryan the whole time even when I wasn’t sure about him. Even when he was an awful teenage boy, I understood why he was doing the things he was doing. I could detail every character and how I found them relatable but I would be here all night!

My only complaint is the very ending concerning the bruise on Erin’s wrist. For me, it was too many unanswered questions leaving me wanting more yet not seeing a possible avenue for a sequel. Which is why I am rating it only 4 stars.

I have been wanting to read Ortlepp’s novel, Claiming Noah for a while now but as I am not allowed to buy any new books for the moment, I settled for her second novel the moment I saw it was available on NetGalley.

Yet again another Australian author. If you want to support homegrown talent then definitely pick this book up!

Cai xx

Title: Running With the Tide

Author: Amanda Ortlepp

Genre: Adult Fiction, Mystery

Rating: 4/5

Platform: I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Picture: Goodreads

