Time for my first book related post.

Richelle Mead is a favourite author of mine. She wrote the hilarious Vampire Academy series, the one that was turned into the awful cliched movie. She has written several other series but I am still making my way through her books. I have read all of the Vampire Academy series and am finally onto reading the Bloodlines series.

Bloodlines follows on from the VA as a spinoff series. It follows the Alchemist, Sydney Sage (first appeared in Blood Promise) as she is given a new field position to essentially prove her loyalty to the Alchemists. Sydney, however agrees to take the mission to protect her younger sister from joining the Alchemist ranks. Now, that I look back on it, how very Hunger Games-esque.

Sydney is stationed in Palm Springs, undercover as a student while managing the Moroi princess and her dhamphir body guards, also undercover as students. In an incredibly short space of time, they have already had all sorts of whacky adventures, from fanatics who believe that all vampires are evil and should die to Strigoi wannabes.

The third instalment in the Bloodlines series explores Sydney’s every relationship. Sydney uncovers some of the Alchemists lies, leaving her to wonder what else they have been lying about. In turn, she begins to take control of her own life and stop being controlled by superiors. Sydney also faces her feelings towards Adrian as well as coming to terms with the use of magic. Indigo Spell leaves Sydney questioning everything.

This so far is my favourite instalment in the Bloodlines series. Sydney finally takes control of everything and lets go of her insecurities, something I have been waiting (quite impatiently) to happen. I love that the obsession with her calorie intake has subsided. Kudos to Richelle Mead for finally showing that the obsession is unhealthy and ridiculous. The humorous exchanges between Adrian and Sydney are, as always, spot on. Mead definitely has a flair for the humour. The novel explains more about the Alchemists than any of the others so far and the connection with the Warriors of the Sun is explored a little more.

I did find that this instalment was all Sydney and Adrian. Don’t get me wrong, I love their bantering and their adventures but there was very little Jill, Eddie and Angeline. I ended up feeling like they were friends that I hadn’t talked to in a while as Mead barely mentioned them. Which is funny as Jill is suppose to be the mission. It however does not bug me enough for me to drop down from a five out of five star rating.

I feel that you should be warned though. If you have not read this book yet, you will be completely stunned at the end of the novel. At least I was. I have been itching to get a hold of the laptop to write my reviews so I can begin the next instalment, Fiery Heart.

Cai xx

Quote: ‘”Hopper.” When Adrian laughed, I added, “Best rabbit ever. He’d be proud to know his name is being passed on.”
“Yes, I’m sure he would. Did you name the Mustang too?”
“I think you mean the Ivashkinator.”‘

Genre: Young Adult, Supernatural, Paranormal, Vampires

Rating: 5/5

Picture: Goodreads

